Rick Lee James Substack
Rick Lee James Podcast Network
My Master Was So Very Poor - Musical Moment of Sabbath #5
--:--
--:--

My Master Was So Very Poor - Musical Moment of Sabbath #5

I’ve always loved hymns that tell the story of the life of Christ, starting with his birth and then moving out to the broader story.

I found the lyrics to this hymn in a pile of books at a large book sale. I had never heard it before so I wrote music to accompany it.

The lyrics are simple, but deeply moving to me. They identify with the earthiness of Jesus and his identification with the poor. What an amazing thought to think that Kings would come from afar to bow before an infant from a poor Jewish family.

I hope you will find that the music accentuates the lyrics. The video below is a live version I recorded in our church sanctuary. The audio version at the top is from my album, THUNDER.

I hope it will give you a few Sabbath moments to ponder.

Blessings,

Rick

Rick Lee James Web Site

0 Comments
Rick Lee James Substack
Rick Lee James Podcast Network
Podcasts, Music and More from Rick Lee James in one Podcast Feed.
-Voices In My Head (The Rick Lee James Podcast)
-Welcome To The Neighborhood (A Mister Rogers Tribute Podcast)