Rick Lee James Substack
Rick Lee James Podcast Network
A Musical Moment of Sabbath #1 - Morning Hymn (The Long Night Has Passed)
--:--
--:--

A Musical Moment of Sabbath #1 - Morning Hymn (The Long Night Has Passed)

I had a late night of podcasting last night with my new friend Daniel Deitrich, writer of the song, Hymn For The 81%. It was a good conversation and I am still pondering some things this morning that we discussed last night. (You can hear our conversation in about week and a half)

Today I woke up for a 5am prayer time, did a 6 mile run , showered and then did my morning devotions from today’s lectionary readings. After that I squeezed in a new episode of Animaniacs with my song while we had breakfast. Now it’s time for a long day of online school with my son and putting the finishing touches on the liturgy for my brother-in-law's wedding this Saturday. This is just one day. For me it has already been a week full with work for church, 3 days of suffering with migraines, and a busy weekend ahead. I’m already feeling a need for some rest…but there is none in sight.

It’s clear to me that I need a Sabbath, and I wonder if maybe those of you who are reading this might need one too. The problem is that in the moment when we need it, we don’t always have it. This post is the first of what I plan on being a series of musical Sabbath moments.

This song, Morning Hymn ( The Long Night Has Passed), is a song I wrote for just this kind of moment, when we are desperately weary and we need a fresh start. In Christ we can trust that even if it hasn’t happened yet, the long night will pass and the dawn will arise.

I hope you can take a few minutes to listen this song, but when you listen, strive to hear from the Holy Spirit. May some word that is heard not be words from Rick, but words from God’s heart to yours. For four minutes and thirty-seven seconds, I hope you can allow the light of Christ to dawn upon you this day. There is truly no greater rest than to rest in the Lord.

Blessings,

Rick Lee James

Song: Morning Hymn ( The Long Night Has Passed)

Album: Hymns, Prayers, and Invitations

Publisher: Lifeway Worship

0 Comments
Rick Lee James Substack
Rick Lee James Podcast Network
Podcasts, Music and More from Rick Lee James in one Podcast Feed.
-Voices In My Head (The Rick Lee James Podcast)
-Welcome To The Neighborhood (A Mister Rogers Tribute Podcast)