Rick Lee James Substack
Voices In My Head (The Rick Lee James Podcast)
Episode 495: The Biggest Thing I Learned In 2022
0:00
-15:50

Episode 495: The Biggest Thing I Learned In 2022

Voices In My Head (The Rick Lee James Podcast)

Voices In My Head (The Rick Lee James Podcast ) Episode 495

The Biggest Thing I learned In 2022

In my work as a chaplain this year, in all the books I read, patients I visited, and learning I received through didactics, this piece by Parker J. Palmer stayed with me more than any other. I think about it every day and it has transformed the way I look at doing ministry. I am grateful for it and I hope it will be meaningful to you as well.

Below is a written excerpt from the full article, which is linked below, and which I read on this episode.

“The human soul doesn't want to be advised or fixed or saved. It simply wants to be witnessed - to be seen, heard and companioned exactly as it is. When we make that kind of deep bow to the soul of a suffering person, our respect reinforces the soul's healing resources, the only resources that can help the sufferer make it through.

Aye, there's the rub. Many of us "helper" types are as much or more concerned with being seen as good helpers as we are with serving the soul-deep needs of the person who needs help. Witnessing and companioning take time and patience, which we often lack especially when we're in the presence of suffering so painful we can barely stand to be there, as if we were in danger of catching a contagious disease.

We want to apply our “fix,” then cut and run, figuring we’ve done the best we can to “save” the other person.”

—Parker J. Palmer

If this short excerpt intrigues you, I would encourage you to read the whole article at the link below while you listen to the song above. If you need me, I’ll be walking the halls.

Happy New Year,

Rick Lee James

https://onbeing.org/blog/the-gift-of-presence-the-perils-of-advice/

10% Off Everything Rick Lee James on Band camp

Instructions

  1. Visit https://rickleejames.bandcamp.com

  2. At checkout use code: 10off


Advent Hymn (Watching, Waiting, Longing)

This song appeared on over 80 Spotify playlists this Advent Season. I want to thank everyone for listening and sharing it this year.

Advent_Hymn_CCM_Magazine_Screenshot7a228.jpg
  • Official Music Video Link:

  • Web Site:

https://rickleejames.com/

Endorsements:

“A perfect and needed addition to any Christmas playlist this year. Rick Lee James bringing home the Advent Message.”

-CCM Magazine https://www.ccmmagazine.com/music-video/rick-lee-james-advent-hymn-watching-waiting-longing/

“I love Advent Hymn (Watching, Waiting, Longing), which gives newness to the phrases of Isaiah. Watching, waiting, and longing is what we do now, and these songs help us do that in confidence. I anticipate that this album will be received as a great gift by many who will find their faith nourished and awakened by it.”

Walter Brueggemann (Professor Emeritus of Old Testament at Columbia Theological Seminary)

"I've watched Rick grow as an artist and songwriter for many years. Congratulations brother on an excellent independent release."

-Paul Baloche (Dove Award Winning Songwriter)

"Rick Lee James is a poet and singer. You will not only enjoy listening, you'll be drawn into the source –Jesus."

-Mike Harland

RICK LEE JAMES INFO

Web Sites:

https://www.rickleejames.com

Get The Single:

https://rickleejames.hearnow.com/halls


 

podcast_square_-_made_with_postermywall.jpg

More from Rick Lee James

Shine A Light In The Darkness


Get The Single: https://rickleejames.hearnow.com/shine-a-light-in-the-darkness

Music Video:

Rick Lee James Playlist on Spotify:

https://t.co/S7nCRl0xqa

0 Comments
Rick Lee James Substack
Voices In My Head (The Rick Lee James Podcast)
Voices In My Head is the Official Podcast of Singer, Songwriter, Author, and Pastor Rick Lee James where he talks with authors, actors, songwriters, and creative people from all genres about life, art, and culture through the lens of faith.